myON-by-Renaissance-Color

How to Create Groups and Assign Students to Them (Building Administrator)

As a Building Administrator, you can follow the steps below to create groups and assign students to them.

  1. On the dashboard (main page), click My School, then Rosters/Groups.
  2. In the top right part of the page, click New Group.
  3. On the New Group page, enter the name of the group that you are creating in the Group field. (The Description is optional.) Click Save.
  4. After you save the group, you will see additional buttons. Click Assign.
  5. In the window that opens, the tabs give you different ways to find students that you want to add to the group:
    • On the Search tab, you can use the search field to search for students in the building by name, ID, or user name. Matching students will be listed as you type. To add one, hover over the student's name, then select + next to the student's name; to add all students in the results, check Select All under the list.
    • On the Building tab, use the drop-down list to choose a specific building that you want to add students from. To add one of the students to the group, hover over the student's name, then select + next to that student; to add all students in the results, check Select All under the list.
    • On the Grade tab, use the drop-down list to select a grade. To add one of the students to the group, hover over the student's name, then select + next to that student; to add all students in the results, check Select All under the list.
    • On the Rosters/Groups tab, use the drop-down list to select a roster or group that the students you're looking for are already in. To add one of the students to the group, hover over the student's name, then select + next to that student; to add all students in the results, check Select All under the list.

    On all four tabs, students that you add to the group are shown as "Added" in the list on the left. As you search for students in the tabs, students who were in the group before you selected Assign are marked "Already included."

    When you're done adding or removing students, select Apply in the bottom right corner of the window.

The changes you've made to the students in the group will be reflected on the Edit Group page. Click Save in the top right corner of the page to save your changes.