Freckle_logo

How do I share a student’s data with another teacher?

Who can do this with default capabilities?

Teachers

In schools around the country, it is becoming very common for multiple teachers to work together towards educating students. Whether it is a co-taught classroom, a general education teacher working with a resource teacher, or a math interventionist planning out individualized lessons for a group of students, teamwork is vital if we want to succeed. Unfortunately, it can be very difficult for all teachers to have a complete understanding of student strengths and weaknesses, preventing key stakeholders from providing every student with the best math education possible.

This is why we built the new "Share" feature. By sharing a student on Freckle, all teachers involved in the education of a student will have an updated look at his or her progress and performance, lending insight as to how they should target instruction and provide support. The share feature makes sure that every teacher is able to do their best work so that all students can reach their full potential.

Sharing Students

You can easily share students between teachers. Select Share/Transfer next to a student's name and then select Share with a teacher.

Once you choose to share that student, a pop-up window will prompt you to select whether you will be sharing the student with a teacher on Freckle, or with a teacher who has yet to create a Freckle account. If sharing with a teacher on Freckle, you'll be able to select the student(s) and find any teacher within the same district to share that student with.

Due to privacy concerns, teachers are currently unable to share students with teachers outside of their school district.

If sharing with a teacher not on Freckle, you'll have the option to invite them to create a free Freckle account through email or with a link. Note that you will not be able to share students with a teacher who has yet to create a Freckle account, and will need to re-share them once the account is created.

Once the sharing settings are updated, all teachers on the share list will have access to that student's data. You will see the number of teachers each student is shared with on the Roster page, and can select that link to see which teachers have access to that student's data.

If at any time a teacher with whom you once shared a student no longer works with that student, you can remove their access by selecting Remove co-teacher next to their name.

That teacher will no longer have access to that student's data, and he or she will no longer show up on that teacher's roster.

Sharing FAQs

How do I know if I shared a student with a teacher?

The roster will tell you exactly how many teachers each student is currently shared with. You can select the link provided to see which teachers have access to that student's data.

A teacher just shared their class with me, but I don't see that roster in my account. Why?

Two things:

  • Make sure you have a class created on the Roster page. Until you do this, you won't be able to "receive" any students.
  • When another teacher shares a class (or just a student) with you, that student automatically is put into your first, or default class. To move the student into another class of yours, select settings button next to that student's name (), select Move to another class of mine, and then select the class that student should be moved to.

When I share a student with another teacher, what can I see regarding that student? And how about the teacher I shared the student with?

Whether you are the "owner" of that student or the teacher that "received" that student, you are able to see all the student's data and activity in your reports.

If I shared multiple students or a student with a teacher, which class code should the student use?

The student will technically be able to log in using both class codes, but should always use the class code unique to the teacher they're currently working with (for assignment purposes).

If I'm the "owner" of the student in the roster, and I give out 3 assignments, and the teacher I shared the student with gives out 2 assignments, what will the student see?

The student will see 5 assignments on their dashboard.

What happens if I "remove" a student from my roster that I've shared with another teacher?

Neither you nor the "receiving" teacher will see the student anymore. However, the student can be "restored" at any time by going to the Roster page, scrolling all the way to the bottom, and selecting See my removed students. You can elect to "Restore" any student from that list, which will add that student back to your first class roster, from which you can re-share the student.

If I'm the "owner" of the student and I have assignments first mode turned on, will the student have to complete all assignments with me and the teacher I shared the student with?

No, the student will only be in "assignments first mode" in your class, as long as the student uses your class code when logging into Freckle.

What is the benefit of sharing?

  • For the student, they only need to take the diagnostic pre-tests one time, and they can aggregate their coins in one place.
  • For teachers, everyone who works with the student can see comprehensive data and results for that student.