Freckle_logo

Can I have my students retake the pretest to see growth over time?

Who can do this with default user permissions?

Teachers

Freckle is adaptive, meaning that as students practice, Freckle will automatically adjust their level up and down. This means that letting students practice will ensure that they are at their appropriate level. With the adaptive nature of the program, teachers should not need to reset student work to have students retake the present (apart from very specific situations).

When Should I Reset Student Work?

For this reason, you should only reset student work to have students retake the diagnostic if you believe another student (or sibling) accidentally logged into the account and ended up with the student at a level so different from his or her current working level that the program is rendered useless. Do note that even then, this difference in ability and practice will only last several sessions, as the program quickly works to adapt to student ability level.

If you do want to reset student progress, you can do so through the Roster page in the top left of your teacher dashboard.

  1. Select the settings button at the end of the row for the student's name and then select Reset student options.

  2. You will see the option to reset students by subject or domain. Note that if you reset a student, ALL of their past data in that subject/domain will be lost. Make sure you are certain that you want to reset students before doing so.

After resetting a student's work in a particular subject or domain, he or she will need to begin again with the diagnostic.