star-reading

Editing or Creating Groups

Students can be placed in groups so that certain reports can be created just for the students in that group.

Who can do this with default capabilities?

District Level Administrators, District Staff, School Level Administrators, School Staff, Teachers

Teachers who have had the "Manage Star Reading Screening, Progress Monitoring & Intervention" capability removed can only manage their own students in groups.

Note: Groups created for screening, progress monitoring, and intervention are not the same as groups created in Planner or Planner Trial. The groups created in Planner or Planner Trial are used to assign resources and assessments to groups of students. For more information about these products, use the following links:

To access the Managing Groups page:

  1. Click Star Reading on the Home page, then click Screening, Progress Monitoring & Intervention.

  2. If necessary, use the School drop-down list to choose which school's groups you want to work with; then, in the gray sidebar on the left side of the page, click Manage Groups.

  3. On the Managing Groups page, you can begin the following management tasks:

    • Click Create Group to begin creating a new group.

    • In the list of groups that are shown on this page, you will see the name of each group, the personnel member assigned to the group, the programs the group is used with, and the number of students in the group. You will also see a list of any groups that you either created yourself or which you are assigned to.

      • Click Edit to edit the information for the group. Note: You cannot change the school for any existing group.
      • Click Add/Remove Students to search for students to add to the group or to remove students from the group.
      • Click Delete to delete the group.

        You will be asked if you are certain that you want to delete the group for all personnel. It is possible to delete groups made by other people, and deletion of a group cannot be undone, so be very careful when deleting groups.

      • Select Done when you have finished making changes to groups.