renaissance-place

Editing Multiple Students

When you edit information for multiple students, you cannot change all personal information for those students. However, you can increase or decrease students' grades by one level, change their passwords, assign or remove student characteristics, and permanently delete students and their records.

Who can do this with default capabilities?

District Administrators, District Staff, School Administrators

If you are a school administrator and you are assigned to more than one school, on the Home page, select your name, then Change Role to choose the school you want to work with before following these steps.

  1. On the Home page, select Users.
  2. Select Edit Multiple Students.
    • For a list of all students, do not enter any search criteria and skip to step 4. (For school administrators, this will find all students in your school.)
    • District personnel must choose a school. (If you are a school administrator, your school is automatically selected.)
    • You can select the grade, a characteristic, or a class.
    • You can enter a first name and/or last name (full or partial; the software can match partial names).
    • Check the Show Unenrolled Students Only box to only find students that are not enrolled in a school, but that were previously enrolled in the selected school.
  3. Select Search.
  4. The students who matched your search will be listed on the lower-right part of the page.
  5. If the list is long, you will see only part of the list, but you can select Next >> and << Previous ( below) to move forward and back through the list. Doing this will automatically cause any students on the selected page to be moved to the left-hand list (just as if you had selected < Add).

    Check the boxes next to students that need the same information changed () and then select < Add () to copy them to the left-hand list. To select all the students in the portion of the list that you are viewing, check the Student box at the top of the list.

  6. Check the box next to each item that you want to change ():
    • Check this box if you want to add a characteristic to the students. Then, use the drop-down list to choose the characteristic that you want to add. The characteristics that are in the Add and Remove drop-down lists are the ones available at the student's school. Schools may have different characteristics.

    • Check this box if you want to remove a characteristic from the students' records. Then, select the characteristic that you want to remove from the drop-down list.

    • If you have noticed that the students have the wrong grade level, check the Grade box to increase or decrease the students' grade by one level. Then, use the drop-down list to choose whether to increase or decrease the grade level for the students. Note that students are automatically promoted to the next grade level in the software when a new school year begins, so this change should only be necessary if there is an error or if a student was not promoted in your school.

    • Check this box if you want to change the students' passwords. Then, click in each of the blank fields and type the same new password. Please note that this will give all the students the same password.

    • Check this box if you want to require students to change their passwords the next time they log in.

    • Check this box if you want to permanently remove the chosen students and their records from Renaissance Place.

      Note: Choose this option only if the students are not enrolled at any school in the district and future access to the students' data is not required. Do not use this option if the student is enrolled in another school in the district or if future access to the students' data is required (for reporting purposes).

      If you choose this option, you will have a 30-day grace period during which you can recover permanently removed students and their records. Once those 30 days have passed, the data cannot be recovered.

      Usually only district personnel have the option to permanently remove students. School administrators can only search for students in their own school, and they do not see the option for permanently removing students unless they have been given additional capabilities.

  7. Select Save () to apply the changes to the students whose names have been copied to the left-hand list.
  8. If you have chosen to permanently remove students and their records, you will be asked to confirm the permanent removal before proceeding. Once the changes are complete, a confirmation message will open telling you how many students were removed.

  9. If you want to make more changes for groups of students, repeat steps 3-7 above.