In some Renaissance Place products, parents can log in to view results for their children. Deleted parents will no longer be able to log in. If the parent that you are deleting is also a teacher, staff member, or administrator, only the parent records will be deleted; the personnel records will remain in the database.
Who can do this with default capabilities?
District Administrators, District Staff, School Administrators
- On the Home page, select Users.
- Select View Parent.
- Search for the parent that you want to delete.
- To retrieve a list of all parents, skip to step 4.
- Type the first name and/or last name of the parent in the appropriate blank fields. You do not need to type the entire name; the software can perform partial matches.
- If the Also Show Personnel box is available, check it if you want your search to include personnel (who may also be parents).
- If you want to include inactive parent records, check the Show Inactive Parent Records box .
The parents who matched your search will be listed. Click Select next to the parent's name . (If the list is long, you may need to select Next >> and << Previous to move forward and back through the list.)
The View Parent page shows you the parent's information. Select Delete Parent. (This link is not available for inactive parent records.)
The next page will ask if you are sure that you want to delete the parent.
- If you want to delete the parent permanently, check the Erase Permanently box . If you do this, you cannot recover the parent's record later.
- If you do not check this box, the parent becomes inactive, and you can recover the parent later by adding a parent with the same name.
- Select Yes to continue, or No if you decide not to delete the parent.
The page will then notify you that the parent has been deleted or inactivated. If the parent could not be deleted permanently, the parent will be inactive, even if you chose to delete him or her permanently; this happens if the parent has children assigned in Renaissance Place. Select Continue.
You can recover parents that have been deactivated instead of permanently deleted by either searching for the parent or adding a parent with the same name. Note: When a parent record has been reactivated, you will need to re-assign children to the parent.
- Search for the parent by following steps 1-4 above, making sure that the Show Inactive Parent Records box is checked.
- In the search results, click Select next to the parent's name.
- On the View Parent page, select Reactivate Parent Record to reactivate the parent.