Interest Levels

The Interest Levels are:

  • Lower Grades (LG K-3)
  • Middle Grades (MG 4-8)
  • Middle Grades Plus (MG+ 6 and up)
  • Upper Grades (UG 9-12)

The Interest Level relates to content and age appropriateness, not the difficulty or readability of the text. Books and other reading materials are assigned an Interest Level based on publisher recommendations.

The Interest Level reflects the judgment of the book's publisher and the professionals at Renaissance. However, the final decision on whether the content of a book is appropriate for a particular student is the responsibility of school librarians, teachers, and parents. You can change the Interest Level of a book in Accelerated Reader Bookguide on the Book Details page.

Within each Interest Level, you will find a wide range of Book Levels to support students who read at, above, and below grade level.

Interest Level, Book Level, and Reading Level measure different things.