accelerated-reader

Using the Locale Content Sets Preference

Use this preference if you want to use quizzes or assignments that were created for a culture different from your own.

Typically, if you are a US customer, you will only see US English and Spanish quizzes and assignments. If you are a UK customer, you will see only UK English quizzes and assignments, and if you are an Australian customer, you will see only Australia English quizzes and assignments. Using this preference, you can choose to see quizzes and assignments for additional countries. You can also use this preference to hide US Spanish quizzes if you do not want your students to see them.

If you select more than one country or locale, you may see many duplicate reading quizzes. Quizzes are often created for the same book for different locations. To avoid confusion about which quizzes you want students to take, consider writing the quiz number on the label for each book.

Who can do this with standard capabilities?

District Administrators, School Administrators

Follow these steps to change the preference:

  1. On the Home page, if you see Accelerated Reader, click it, then click Preferences.

    If you have the Accelerated Reader 360 Suite, select Independent Reading, then Preferences.

  2. Click Locale Content Sets in the School Preferences section of the Preferences page.
  3. For each school, check the country and language whose quizzes and assignments should be available. If no boxes are checked for a school, the defaults for your country will be used (United States English and Spanish, United Kingdom, or Australia).
  4. You can use this preference to hide Spanish quizzes if your students do not need them. Simply check only the English - United States box, and leave the Spanish - United States box unchecked.

    If you want to choose the same settings for all schools on your site, select Set All at the top of the page and check the boxes as needed (or leave all unchecked to use the default quizzes and assignments). Then, click Apply to All.

  5. Select Save Changes.
  6. Select Back to go back to the Preferences page.